2013-14 Community Meals Coordination by Erica Van Skike

As a second year PICAn and a first year PICA leadership team member, this school year brought many wonderful things into my experiences in an intentional community based on sustainability. I chose to apply for the Community Meals Coordinator position because I have always been extremely interested in community building, and I thought that this interest along with my love of food would make the Community Meals Coordinator the perfect position for me. My job responsibilities included: collecting money, bulk shopping, organizing meal sign-ups, keeping track of the F quad keys, clean up, and all the duties of being a PICA leadership team member. I really enjoyed every part of my job, but I especially enjoined being able to come together through food to have discussions and just relax over dinner. I felt like community meals were a time in which people were really able to spend time with each other in a more laid-back setting, and get to know each other on a deeper and more meaningful level.

veggies

There were so many wonderful things that happened regarding community meals this year. First and foremost, the food was delicious. There were so many great meals, it is impossible for me to pick just one meal that stood out more than the others. I was really impressed that the cooks were able to integrate both bulk food and harvest from the garden into mostly all of the meals, and make it into something amazing. One meal that was really important to me was the collaboration with the apprentices at the beginning of the school year. I thought that was a great way to bridge connections between PICA and CASFS, and it was really fun to be able to enjoy food and conversation with people who have similar interests in gardening and community building to ourselves. I also loved the collaboration that happened with the apprentices this spring quarter. It was fun to go to the CASFS site itself, and see the way that they facilitate their community meals at the farm, and the food there was bountiful and delicious (especially the vegan chocolate covered strawberries).

I want to thank everyone in this beautiful community for making the community meals program this school year a success. I am so happy I was able to hold this position and connect with all of you through food this school year. 

erica

Leave a comment

June 5, 2014 · 9:31 pm

Leave a Reply

